//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Privileged Farmer

I was jotting a note to our Compassion child, Katerin, today, and sharing with her how much we enjoy gardening. Then the thought gave me pause. Enjoy gardening? What a privilege! I know that while Katerin and her family may enjoy working their land to some degree, there is pressure for them to succeed that I will never know. While we try to be good stewards of our land, if our garden (our backyard farm) doesn’t produce much, there are myriad farmer’s markets, local farms, and grocery stores where I can buy anything I need. My children will not be hungry and will not lie awake at night worrying about weather conditions, natural disasters or just a bad year. And the things I do worry about – the source of our meat, where our veggies are grown, what we use to clean our home – are worries that don’t even occur to so many.

Today we are thankful for the things we are privileged to enjoy and the things we are privileged to worry about. While I do think these things are important, I don’t want to lose perspective on how blessed we are.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

